Detours

For my own amusement, and sometimes others, when someone is telling me a story, and they pause somewhere mid-sentence, like they are searching for the words to complete the thought, I like to complete the sentence in some absurd way.  (-:  Sometimes it messes with people.  Others just grin and continue.  Occasionally, someone will find my little detour entertaining and take it with me.  This is my playful way of shuffling the deck a little, shall we say.

Detours are good for the soul.  All work an no play, as they say, does not the spark of life make.  I can be pretty single minded when it comes to accomplishing a task, sometimes to my own detriment.  It’s good when a friend reminds me to take a humanity break.  Humor is a good reminder.

People say, “Lighten up,” when they see you wound up tight.  The way to do that is  to put things down for a second, unwind a little,  and inject a some play into the mix.  Life is a long road trip.  It’s good to get off the interstate periodically and go see a big ball of twine.


Leave a comment